Rosemount Middle School

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is Erica Mathieson and I am new to Rosemount Middle. I attended ISD 196 schools as a student and am very excited to be welcomed back, now positioned on the other side of the desk! I graduated from UW-Stout with a major in art education and a minor in technical communication. I plan on integrating my experience with writing and communication into my art teaching to provide your child with a more enriched creative experience.

I know that making art can be a daunting thought for some kids, with pressure from their peers and the confusion that sometimes comes with being a middle school student. However, my classroom is built on respect and responsibility and is a place where all students are safe to create and express themselves.

Here are some of the projects I have in store for your child this trimester:

  • Value Drawings
  • Japanese Coy Fish Paintings
  • Ceramic Gargoyles
  • Native American Art

If you would like to view my lesson plans or assessment forms, they are located under the tabs at the top of the page.

I have also started an Artsonia page to showcase your child’s art in an online, student art gallery. I will be sending a letter home with the kids to explain what Artsonia is all about and how it can be used. There is a link to Rosemount Middle’s Artsonia page in the right column, I encourage everyone to take a look-it is a great way to ensure you get to see your kid’s artwork!

I will be using this blog to chronicle my adventures and experiences with being a first year teacher as well as a way to share projects and communicate with parents and others in the art education community. I hope you stop by this page and visit often!

