The end of the year is fast approaching, and I wanted to get my kids into the hallway to critique the artwork that has been displayed throughout the trimester before time came to take the work down and return it to their creators. The kids were given a worksheet which gave them some parameters to work within when evaluating the artwork. Some of the things they were asked to think about were: best use of value, most realistic, best use of movement, most successful use of color and most creative. I wanted them to think critically about their decisions and steer them away from the age old “I like it because it’s good” answer. I wanted them to tell me WHY they thought it was good. This exercise requires them to advance their thinking to a higher level, as well as allows them to pinpoint what is successful in their own artwork they do in the future. 

