A Guided Drawing

7th and 8th grade painters are close to finishing their packet exercises, so today in class we did a guided drawing. I will often hear students say “but I can’t draw a fish” or a house or car or person or whatever it may be that we are drawing. So I tried to help them understand that whatever they are drawing is made up of smaller, much simpler shapes that they certainly can draw. We labeled all the shapes we saw on my drawing and then drew them together one at a time. I do think this helped the students see the shapes within what they are drawing and break the task up into something more manageable. Their practice drawings turned out very well!

A Student Drawing

A Student Drawing

A Student Drawing

Another example of how to break an object down into simple shapes.

 

