The new trimester has begun and I have all new classes this tri. I am teaching a film class this trimester, which is both exciting and a little scary. I have never taught a film class and am the only teacher teaching it this trimester. However, that gives me a lot of freedom to develop this course on my own. I have really enjoyed coming up with my own projects and choosing the things I think are important for the students to learn about. This week, we studied the history of film. We discussed the first moving pictures and how they evolved into the films and movies we know today. One of the first moving pictures was a thaumatrope, a two sided disk with different pictures on each side. When the disk spins, our eyes combine the pictures and it becomes one. The students made their own thaumatropes in class, which was a fun experiment for all of us!

DSCN4256

