The kids are just finishing up their clay head project. This is a difficult and challenging project for 7th and 8th graders, but I can tell they enjoy it and learn a lot from it. I have learned a lot too, and when I teach this class next year I will be changing some things. I think more study on the human face, proportions, and clay handling is in order before kids begin the project. I think I will have them do more drawing next time before they get into the clay. I would like to get the kids to the point where this can be a more independent project. When I look at their finished projects, I see my hand in most of them. That is something I would like to change for next time. But I do know the kids enjoyed it, they all turned out with unique and individual personalities, and the kids have grown and benefited from the project. So all in all, a success!

DSCN4446 DSCN4471

