The clay kids are plugging away on their clay heads. This is also the second time I have taught this lesson and I definitely have some ideas that will make this lesson more successful. I think the mannequin heads have certainly been helpful, as well as the “planes of the face” lesson I gave a few weeks ago. This time, I had them carve the proportions of the human face into their clay before they started creating features. I also had them build up a bone structure first, sort of forming a skull that they will build on top of. I can already tell kids have a better understanding of the human face, and that is definitely going to be evident in their final products!

DSCN4683

The kids always end up with “bean heads”-heads with jaws way too big for their faces. I had them fix that all at once this time. Much better!

Image

The proportions of the face

Image

Starting to build up the skull!

