The clay kids are moving on to their next project, which is the clay mug. They are doing this while the clay heads are drying, as they take at least 3 weeks to dry before we can fire them. The mugs are a bit of a relief for me. The clay heads are an extremely labor intensive project, both for the students and for me! And while I did a lot of reflecting and thinking on this project that make it go much smoother, it is still a difficult assignment. But I learn a lot and the kids learn a lot, which are both positive things! I am much happier with the way the heads turned out this time around (pictures to come later).  The mugs start out as a slab of clay wrapped around a cut PVC pipe. The kids will add texture, shapes, and a handle, and then they will be fired and glazed.

Image

Image

