The sixth graders just finished working on their colored pencil unit. This unit takes what they learned about color theory and adds another element: Perspective. I wanted to do a lesson that aligned with the school’s math goal for the year, and I thought perspective would be a great way to do that. We discussed horizon line, vanishing point and creating depth on a one dimensional surface. I had the kids use their names as their subject-the letters serve as nice, geometric shapes which are easy to make three-dimensional. I had them do a rough draft and a final draft and I am BEYOND impressed with the amount of improvement I saw. After the rough drafts were turned in, I saw that some kids were not quite understanding the concept of the vanishing point, so that is something we revisited before the final. Check them out on Artsonia!

Image

A rough draft

Image

The final draft from the same student-tons of improvement!

Image

A final draft

Image

A final draft

