I can’t believe the school year is practically over. I look back on the year I’ve had with my students and colleagues and think about how far I have come and how much I have learned. I do believe it is one of my professional duties as a teacher to also be a life-long learner. I will continue to grow and learn and develop and will hopefully be able to pass that on to my kids through my teachings. I think back on a comment I received from an education professor in college about my “fragile voice” and wondering how someone so quiet could command a room of kids. It’s something I have felt a little self conscious about since, but have realized that kids can respond to quiet, and gentle, and subtle. One of the struggles I find with teaching is really being able to tell if you have been successful or not. You can look at your kids’ improvement, you can look at their final projects and see if they have met the objectives you wanted them to learn, but it is harder to tell if you inspired them to learn or helped them find a passion for something. It isn’t something that can be measured by scores or projects. Inspiration is measured 25 years down the road when your kids become doctors, parents, lawyers, chefs, or teachers themselves.

With that, I give you watercolor bugs, done by my soon to be seventh graders!

Image

Image

Image

